MySQL Community Awards 2015: Call for Nominations!

February 6, 2015

The 2015 MySQL Community Awards event will take place, as usual, in Santa Clara, during the Percona Live MySQL Conference & Expo, April 2015.

The MySQL Community Awards is a community based initiative. The idea is to publicly recognize contributors to the MySQL ecosystem. The entire process of discussing, voting and awarding is controlled by an independent group of community members, typically based of past winners or their representatives, as well as known contributors.

It is a self-appointed, self-declared, self-making-up-the-rules-as-it-goes committee. It is also very aware of the importance of the community; a no-nonsense, non-political, adhering to tradition, self criticizing committee.

The Call for Nominations is open. We are seeking the community’s assistance in nominating candidates in the following categories:

MySQL Community Awards: Community Contributor of the year 2015

This is a personal award; a winner would a person who has made contribution to the MySQL ecosystem. This could be via development, advocating, blogging, speaking, supporting, etc. All things go.

MySQL Community Awards: Application of the year 2015

An application, project, product etc. which supports the MySQL ecosystem by either contributing code, complementing its behaviour, supporting its use, etc. This could range from a one man open source project to a large scale social service.

MySQL Community Awards: Corporate Contributor of the year 2015

A company who made contribution to the MySQL ecosystem. This might be a corporate which released major open source code; one that advocates for MySQL; one that help out community members by... anything.

For a list of previous winners, please see MySQL Hall of Fame.

Process of nomination and voting

Anyone can nominate anyone. When nominating, please make sure to provide a brief explanation on why the candidate is eligible to get the award. Make a good case!

The committee will review all nominations and vote; it typically takes two rounds of votes to pick the winners, and a lot of discussion.

There will be up to three winners in each category.

Methods of nomination:

  • Send en email to
  • Comment to this post
  • Assuming you can provide a reasonable description in 140 characters, tweet your nomination at #MySQLAwards.

Please submit your nominations no later than Saturday, February 28, 2015.

The committee

Members of the committee are: Baron Schwartz, Colin Charles, Domas Mituzas, Fredric Descamps, Geoffrey Anderson, Giuseppe Maxia, Marc Delisle, Mark Leith, Philip Stoev, Ronald Bradford, Santiago Lertora. A couple additional members pending.

Jeremy Cole and myself (Shlomi Noach) are acting as co-secretaries; we will be non-voting (except for breaking ties).

The committee communicates throughout the nomination and voting process to exchange views and opinions.

The awards

Awards are traditionally (as in this year) donated by some party whose identity remains secret. Thank you, kind sponsor!


This is a community effort; we ask for your support in spreading the word and of course in nominating candidates. Thanks!

  • I'd like to nominate Daniël van Eeden as a community contributor of 2015 for his great work on MySQL security and for his continued support for MySQL User Group.NL.

  • I'd like to nominate Justin Swanhart as a community contributor of the year 2015 as a creator of Shard-Query, Flexviews, and some performance_schema related tools, reporter of many MySQL bugs, and a public speaker about MySQL in "can do" style.

  • I would also like to nominate Justin Swanhart. His work on all of the above plus more UDF of recent weeks are not to go unnoticed by the greater community. Well done Justin.

Powered by Wordpress and MySQL. Theme by