MySQL Community Awards 2017: Call for Nominations!

March 16, 2017

The 2017 MySQL Community Awards event will take place, as usual, in Santa Clara, during the Percona Live Data Performance Conference, April 2017.

The MySQL Community Awards is a community based initiative. The idea is to publicly recognize contributors to the MySQL ecosystem. The entire process of discussing, voting and awarding is controlled by an independent group of community members, typically based of past winners or their representatives, as well as known contributors.

It is a self-appointed, self-declared, self-making-up-the-rules-as-it-goes committee. It is also very aware of the importance of the community; a no-nonsense, non-political, adhering to tradition, self criticizing committee.

The Call for Nominations is open. We are seeking the community’s assistance in nominating candidates in the following categories:

MySQL Community Awards: Community Contributor of the year 2017

This is a personal award; a winner would a person who has made contribution to the MySQL ecosystem. This could be via development, advocating, blogging, speaking, supporting, etc. All things go.

MySQL Community Awards: Application of the year 2017

An application, project, product etc. which supports the MySQL ecosystem by either contributing code, complementing its behavior, supporting its use, etc. This could range from a one man open source project to a large scale social service.

MySQL Community Awards: Corporate Contributor of the year 2017

A company who made contribution to the MySQL ecosystem. This might be a corporate which released major open source code; one that advocates for MySQL; one that help out community members by... anything.

For a list of previous winners, please see MySQL Hall of Fame.

Process of nomination and voting

Anyone can nominate anyone. When nominating, please make sure to provide a brief explanation on why the candidate is eligible to get the award. Make a good case!

The committee will review all nominations and vote; it typically takes two rounds of votes to pick the winners, and a lot of discussion.

There will be up to three winners in each category.

Methods of nomination:

  • Send en email to [ at ]
  • Comment to this post
  • Assuming you can provide a reasonable description in 140 characters, tweet your nomination at #MySQLAwards.

Please submit your nominations no later than Friday, March 31 2017.

The committee

Members of the committee are:

  • Baron Schwartz, Colin Charles, Daniël van Eeden, Domas Mituzas, Eric Herman, Giuseppe Maxia, Justin Swanhart, Jeremy Cole, Mark Leith, Yoshinori Matsunobu, Morgan Tocker, Santiago Lertora

Emily Slocombe and Shlomi Noach are acting as co-secretaries; we will be non-voting (except for breaking ties).

Update: there have been multiple nominations that I'm related to. In previous years I disqualified such nominations but this year I do not wish to disqualify the ones that have been made. I stepped down from the committee and will have no access to the ongoing discussion/voting. Emily is the chairwoman and the committee is likely to get more members.

There is no conspiracy 🙂


The committee communicates throughout the nomination and voting process to exchange views and opinions.

The awards

Awards are traditionally donated by some party whose identity remains secret. A sponsor has already stepped up. Dear anonymous, thank you very much for your contribution!


This is a community effort; we ask for your support in spreading the word and of course in nominating candidates. Thanks!

  • Todor Tuparov

    For Application of the year 2017 my nomination is:


    and for Community Contributor of the year 2017

    The author of ProxySQL

    René Cannaò

    Best regards!

  • Jean-François Gagné

    Application/tool of the year: gh-ost,
    Contributor: gh-ost's author(s),
    Corporate: the company(ies) behind gh-ost.

  • Stéphane Varoqui




  • Shlomi Noach

    As an update, there have been multiple nominations that I'm related to. I decided not to disqualify them (as opposed to previous years) and step down. I'm no longer member of the committee and cannot see the committee's correspondence. Emily Slocombe is the chairwoman and has the keys.

Powered by Wordpress and MySQL. Theme by